Mzansi Super League Drawing Great International Talent

During December last year, the first Mzansi Super League T20 tournament took place. Six teams competed against each other in 32 matches played. Immediately it attracted a lot of international talent to partake. The second edition of the tournament is due to take place during November and December this year, and the global interest from top tier teams is indicating their attention once again.

Mzansi Super League Inaugural Tournament

The tournament took place during 16 November – 16 December 2018. The prize money for the Tournament Champions was set at R7 million, and Jozi Stars were the tournament winners. The runner up team, Cape Town Blitz received R2.5 million. The player of the tournament award winner received R100 000. Quinton de Kock took the honours in this regard. Each man of the match winner pocketed R15 000.

Mzansi Super League 2019

This international event is set to take place during November and December this year. The drafting is scheduled to take place soon and currently, over 250 international players already agreed to enter the draft for MSL. These include both Kolpak players as well as T20 specialists. The talent doesn’t only include local stars from the Proteas side, both past and present, but also all the top-ranked countries in the world of cricket. The marquee players will be announced soon, and this is cause for some pre-tournament excitement before an exciting summer season of cricket.

According to Thabang Moroe, Chief Executive of CSA, this year’s MSL tournament is going to be larger than any other T20 event, including the 2007 inaugural ICC T20 World Cup. This is a big claim to make because the 2018 tournament brought its fair share of troubles. Initially, it was planned that CSA would host an international T20 series at the end of 2017. This would have entailed eight teams competing, but then on the last minute, CSA pulled the plug on the plans. It was later replaced with the MSL international event in 2018. It did, however, lead to some legal action against CSA. Hiren Bhanu, a stakeholder in the then Pretoria Mavericks, sued CSA for R7 million.

The Retainer List

  • The six Mzansi Super League teams also announced the players which they retained from the inaugural tournament. These include the following:
  • For Cape Town Blitz it is Asif Ali, Anrich Nortje, Janneman Malan and Dale Steyn.
  • Durban Heat has Sarel Erwee, David Miller, Kyle Abbot, Keshav Maharaj and Khaya Zondo.
  • Jozi Star announced the names of Reeza Hendricks, Sinethemba Qeshile, Rassie van der Dussen,
  • Duanne Olivier, Ryan Rickelton and Dan Christian.
  • Nelson Mandela Bay Giants retained Heino Kuhn, Chris Morris, Junior Dala, Marco Marais and Jon.
  • Paarl Rocks are going back with Cameron Delport, Henry Davids, Aiden Markram, Bjorn Fortuin, Tabraiz Shamsi and Mangaliso Mosehle.
  • Tshwane Spartans will be back with Tony de Zorzi, Theunis de Bruyn, Lungi Ngidi and Lutho Sipamla.