The 2019 Cricket World Cup

The Cricket World Cup in 2019 will be the 12th edition of the World Cup and is scheduled to be hosted by Wales and England, starting on 30 May 2019 and ending on 14 July 2019. In April 2006, the hosting rights were awarded, after Wales and England withdrew from the bidding to host the ICC Cricket World Cup in 2015, which was held in New Zealand and Australia. The opening match of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 will be played at The Oval, while the Cricket World Cup final will take place at Lord’s. This will be the 5th time the prestigious Cricket World Cup is going to be held in Wales and England, following the 1999, 1983, 1979, and 1975 World Cups.

The 2019 Cricket World Cup Format

The tournament format is going to be a single group consisting of 10 teams, with every team playing against the other nine teams, while the top four teams will progress to the knockout stages followed by the semi-finals and then the finals. The tournament consisting of ten teams has gained criticism as there’s a lack of Associate teams in the 2019 Cricket World Cup. Due to the fact that there’s an increase in Test playing nations, increasing from ten to twelve after the admission of Afghanistan and Ireland in 2017, this will be the first Cricket World Cup without all twelve nations in the tournament.

2019 Cricket World Cup Qualification

The 2019 Cricket World Cup tournament will feature a total of 10 teams which is a significant decrease from the previous tournaments that featured a total of fourteen teams. England, the hosts, along with the top seven teams in the One Day International rankings, automatically earned qualification to the 2019 Cricket World Cup tournament, while the remaining two spots were decided by the Cricket World Cup qualifier in 2018.

Afghanistan managed to win the qualifying tournament after they defeated the West Indies in the qualifier final. Both these teams managed to qualify for the 2019 Cricket World Cup tournament, while Zimbabwe failed to reach the final and therefore they will be excluded from the Cricket World Cup tournament of 2019 for the first time since 1983. Ireland will also miss the 2019 Cricket World Cup which means this is the first World Cup where no Associate nation will be present in the Cricket World Cup of 2019.

2019 Cricket World Cup Venues & Teams

The 2019 Cricket World Cup will be played at 11 different venues across England and Wales, including London, Birmingham, Bristol, Cardiff, Chester-Le-Street, Leeds, Manchester, Nottingham, Southampton, and Taunton. The 2019 Cricket World Cup teams include England, South Africa, India, Australia, New Zealand, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, and the West Indies. The 2019 Cricket World Cup fixtures was released on 26 April 2018 where the opening match will see England take on South Africa at The Oval in London on 30 May 2019 at 10:30am UTC.